district logo
Home Access Center
Google Login
Food Services
A National School District of Character
View Pennsbury School District
About The PSF

Our Mission 

Since 1956, the Pennsbury Scholarship Foundation has existed to help deserving Pennsbury graduates achieve their goal of higher education.

Medill Bair, who was the regional superintendent of the Pennsbury Joint School District, started a personal campaign in 1954 to convince local educators and civic and industrial leaders there should be financial assistance "to see that every boy and girl, having attended the Pennsbury Schools, can advance to a higher learning of his or her choice, regardless of race, color or creed." 

Our History 

In 1955, the Superintendent of the Pennsbury School District, Medill Bair, invited a group of local businessmen and community leaders to the Washington Crossing Inn to discuss a scholarship foundation that would help make it possible for every boy or girl graduating from Pennsbury to attend the post high school institution of their choice.

This founding group of businessmen met often to plan, organize, and carry out projects and fundraising events that would provide the basis for perpetuating yearly scholarships. The Pennsbury Scholarship Foundation was incorporated in l956, making it the oldest privately funded scholarship foundation serving a public school district in the country.

In the early days between 1956 and 1968, the scholarships were awarded based primarily on need. In 1968, an endowment came from the estate of a prominent local developer and his wife, William H. and Anna C. Hayes. Along with the Hayes endowment came guidelines for awarding scholarships that are still used today. All scholarships are based equally on four criteria: need, academic achievement, leadership and character. Additionally, all scholarships are awarded as one-half grant and one-half zero-interest loan, repayable starting 6 months after the student leaves college.

The money available to be awarded in any one year comes from the dividends and interest accumulated over the previous year, plus loan repayments. A conservative approach is taken with regard to the portfolio investments. Loan repayments represent a significant portion of the money given out, amounting to approximately $40,000 in recent years. 

During the past 64 years, approximately $3,500,000 in grants and zero-interest loans has been awarded to more than 1,800 Pennsbury graduates. In recent years, awards have ranged from $1,000 to $8,000. 

In 1998, the Board of Directors established an endowment program designed to perpetuate the name of a loved one. Typically family and friends of the loved one establish a namesake scholarship by contributing until a principal amount of $15,000 has been reached. At that time the earnings on the principal can support a $1,000 scholarship, which is awarded each year thereafter. Since 1998, a total of 36 such namesake scholarships have been endowed in memory of 38 individuals, including 15 Pennsbury High School graduates. 

Source of Award Money

Money available for awards by the Pennsbury Scholarship Foundation comes from income from trusts and donations such as: 

  • The Hayes Trust Fund
  • Endowed Namesake Scholarships
  • Gifts of stock
  • Gifts from PTO fund-raisers
  • Gifts from the Pennsbury Education Association, the Pennsbury Educational Support Personnel Association, and the Pennsbury Administrators and Supervisors Association.
  • Memorial gifts and honorariums
  • Gifts in honor of birthdays, anniversaries, retirements, etc.
  • Loan repayments from former recipients
  • Fundraising projects organized by the Foundation's board of directors 
  • Donations from business, industry and community members

The first substantial gift received by the Foundation was bequeathed in 1968 by William H. and Anna C. Hayes. Mr. Hayes was a housing developer in Lower Makefield Township. The bequest was in excess of $225,000 and has become known as the Hayes Trust, which established the awards criteria used by the Foundation. The William H. and Anna C. Hayes Memorial Scholarships are derived from this trust fund.
The foundation received its first endowed scholarship grant in 1998. Additional endowments, which include the option of creating a namesake scholarship, may be established with a minimum gift of $15,000.
The Pennsbury Community Scholarships are possible because of thousands of gifts the foundation has received from individuals and organizations in our community over the years and from fundraising projects operated by PTO's and the Foundation's Board of Directors.

Our Board of Directors 

An independent, all-volunteer board of directors, comprised of school district and community representatives, administers the Pennsbury Scholarship Foundation. The Board is responsible for raising funds to support the Foundation's growth and to oversee the awarding of grants and loans.

The following people form the Pennsbury Scholarship Foundation's Board of Directors:


Alan Chrzanowski
Yardley, PA

First Vice President
Keller Arnold
Yardley, PA 

Assistant Treasurer
Mary Lou Bradley
Yardley, PA 

Executive Vice President
Jeffrey Sibner, DMD
Yardley, PA 

Louise P. Harman, CPA, MBA
Langhorne, PA

Vickie Brunozzi
Yardley, PA 


Sheena Bediako
Yardley, PA 

Katie Freeman
Yardley, PA  

Carol Regan
Levittown, PA 

Victoria Elliott, RPh, MBA, CAE
Yardley, PA 

Wanda Long
Yardley, PA

Jeffrey C. Smith
Holland, PA 

Randi Flax
Yardley, PA

Vincent J. Magyar, Jr.
Morrisville, PA

Mark Tarallo
Yardley, PA 



Thomas A. Smith, Ed.D.

Christine Toy-Dragoni
School Board President

Theresa Ricci, Ed., D.
Director of Secondary Education



Herbert Duffy
Levittown, PA

Jack E. Erickson
Newtown, PA

Thomas E. Engleman
Souderton, PA

Robert H. McLaren
Langhorne, PA

Pennsbury School District
134 Yardley Avenue, PO Box 338
Fallsington, PA 19058
Telephone: 215-428-4100
Mission Statement
Recognizing our proud traditions and diverse community,
the Pennsbury School District prepares all students to become creative,
ethical, and critical thinkers for lifelong success in a global society.
national district of character
© 2021. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website