Welcome

  • Pennsbury Inclusion Philosophy

    The Pennsbury School District believes our children belong with their peers. Pennsbury is committed to promoting a sense of belonging in each child by affording all students their right to be educated, to the maximum extent appropriate, in their neighborhood school. This commitment is possible through the use of appropriate support to enable students to be educated in the least restrictive environment.
     

    Notice of Special Education Services

    The public school districts of Bucks County, Pennsylvania, and the Bucks County Intermediate Unit (“the Bucks County school entities”), provide special education and related service to resident children with disabilities who are ages three through twenty-one. The purpose of this notice is to describe (1) the types of disabilities that might qualify the child for such programs and services, (2) the special education programs and related services that are available, (3) the process by which each of the Bucks County School entities screens and evaluates such students to determine eligibility, and (4) the special rights that pertain to such children and their parents or legal guardians.

    Programs for Eligible or Protected Handicapped Students

    In compliance with state and federal law, notice is hereby given by the Pennsbury School District that it conducts ongoing identification activities as a part of its school program for the purpose of identifying students who may be in need of special education and related services (eligible students). If your child is identified by the District as possibly in need of such services, you will be notified of applicable procedures. Individualized services and programs are available for children who are determined to need specially designed instruction due to the following conditions:
      • Autism/pervasive development disorder
      • Blindness or visual impairment
      • Deafness or hearing impairment
      • Intellectual Disability
      • Mentally gifted
      • Multiple disabilities
      • Traumatic brain injury
      • Other health impairment
      • Orthopedic impairment
      • Emotional disturbance
      • Specific learning disability
      • Speech or language impairment
      • Deaf-blindness
     
    If you believe that your school-age child may be in need of special education services and related programs, or young child (age 3 to school-age) may be in need of early intervention, screening and evaluation processes designed to assess the needs of the child and his/her eligibility are available to you at no cost, upon written request. You may request a screening and evaluation at any time, whether or not your child is enrolled in the District's public school program. Requests for an evaluation and screening are to be made in writing to the appropriate Special Education Supervisor listed below: \

  • Department Staff

    Regina Rausch
    Director
    rrausch@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4186, ext. 10052
    Amanda Caputo
    Supervisor of Special Education (PHS, Grades 10 & 12)
    acaputo@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 70850
    Peter Carfagno
    Supervisor of Special Education (PHS,Grades 9 & 11)
    pcarfagno@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 70992
    Alida Fitzpatrick
    Supervisor of Special Education (ER, PV, PW)
    afitzpatrick@pennsburysd.org

    Stephanie Fuhrer
    Supervisor of Special Education (EW, OV, WD)
    sfuhrer@pennsburysd.org

    Matt Levin
    Supervisor of Special Education (FA, MK Gifted - Grades K-8, Speech Only)
    mlevin@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 10050
    Nicole Pastman
    Supervisor of Special Education (AF, MN, QH)
    nsilerpastman@pennsburysd.org

    Alison Smith, Ph.D.
    Supervisor of Special Education (CB, WP)
    asmith2@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 10251
    Donna Anderson
    Secretary
    danderson@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 10048
    R. Anne Mason
    Secretary
    rmason@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4186, ext. 10011
    Joy McDade
    Secretary
    jmcdade@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 10054
    Brittany Portwood
    Secretary
    bportwood@pennsburysd.org
    10049
    Kim Watson
    Secretary
    kwatson@pennsburysd.org
    215-428-4100, ext. 10092